Bring On The Sunshine! Hello Georgetown! What a crazy couple of weeks it's been! I hope you and your family is recovering from the recent winter weather that hit Georgetown and all of Texas. Be … Read More...
Have you ever been interested in selling the foods you make in your home kitchen but don’t know how to get started? Texas Cottage Food Laws allow individuals to sell homemade food for profit!
These laws regulate:
- What can and cannot be sold
- Address food safety
- Recipe requirements.
All these regulations can be overwhelming, but the Williamson County Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is here to help. Join on Friday, March 5th from 4-7 PM in the Burnet County Extension Office, 607 North Vandeveer, Suite 100, Burnet TX 78611, for “Cooking Up a Cottage Food Business”.
Through this presentation, you can receive your Food Handler’s Certification in less than two hours! This certification is required for all food service employees in the state of Texas and is accredited by the Texas Department of State Health Services. The class covers food safety practices including cross contamination, personal hygiene, time and temperature abuse (insufficient cooking).
- 4-6 PM is the Food Handler’s Certification Course. The certificate is good for 2 years and is valid anywhere in the State of Texas. The cost to attend only this part of the class is $20.
- 6-7 PM is the Cooking Up a Cottage Food Business presentation. The cost to attend only this part of the class is $10.
You have the option to attend one or both presentations. Package price for both classes is $25.
For more information, contact Andrea Haubner, Family and Community Health Agent-Williamson County, at 512.943.3300 or London Jones, Family and Community Health Agent and 4-H Coordinator-Burnet County, at 512.756.5463.